Preliminary Market Engagement - Food Waste Solution
Key Details
Estimated Value
£6,100,000
Deadline
Not specified
Contract Period
Not specified
Procurement Method
Not specified
CPV Code
90500000 - Refuse and waste related services
Free SME-fit check
Is this tender for me?
Deterministic score from the published notice — not an AI prediction.
47
out of 100
Possible SME fit
Some SME-friendly signals, some caution flags. Worth a closer look against your capacity and accreditations.
Deterministic score from the published notice only (SME/VCSE flags, value, lots, deadline window, framework). Not a prediction you will win, and not legal or bid advice.
Try another notice on the free SME-fit checker.
Key requirements
Extracted from the notice; check the official documents.
- Estimated value
- £6.1m£7.4m including VAT
- Contract period
- 16 Nov 2028 to 15 Nov 2033 (5 years)
- Legal basis
- Procurement Act 2023
- Delivery location (NUTS/ITL)
- UKL15 (Wales), UKL21 (Wales)
- CPV code
- 90500000 Refuse and waste related services
- Suitability (buyer's flag)
- SME-suitable
Description
Note this is a market testing exercise and not a full contract notice - procurement exercise and will help inform the council strategy for future procurement of this service. Background In 2013 the Local Authorities of Rhondda Cynon Taf (RCT), Merthyr Tydfil, and Newport City Councils came together to form the Tomorrows Valley hub (the hub). RCT as a lead authority for the hub procured the food waste treatment contract, awarded in November 2013 to Biogen UK Ltd with a duration of 15 years. A 1MW AD facility was constructed under a Design, Build, Finance and Operate (DBFO) contract on a land owned by RCT at Bryn Pica. The facility has a capacity of 22,500 tonnes per annum and attracts Feed-in-Tarriff (Fit) that will continue until November 2033 (20 years from contract start date). The facility benefits from an Environmental Permit issued by NRW (Natural Resources Wales) and planning permission for access, tipping, digestion and digestate output to PAS110 QP (Quality Protocol) standard. Whilst the hub has an option to extend the contract for a further 10-year period in two 5-year extension periods, it would also like to consider alternative options for the treatment of its food waste from 15th November 2028 that may offer better overall value for money. These options include procuring a new Operation and Maintenance (O&M) contract for its existing facility or procuring a new merchant contract for the treatment of its food waste elsewhere.
Suitability
Who won
No award has been published for this tender, and we have no earlier award notices from Rhondda Cynon Taf CBC in this sector.
From award notices on Find a Tender and Contracts Finder. SME or Large is the size the supplier declared on the notice (or, where it is silent, on its latest notice). Values are as published.