003625 - Preliminary Market Engagement (PME) for the Provision of Meals at Aycliffe Secure Centre
Key Details
Estimated Value
£2,000,000
Deadline
Not specified
Contract Period
Not specified
Procurement Method
Not specified
CPV Code
15894210 - School meals
Free SME-fit check
Is this tender for me?
Deterministic score from the published notice — not an AI prediction.
27
out of 100
Challenging for many SMEs
On the published fields alone this looks harder for a typical SME (value, time, or missing SME flag). Exceptions exist — check the notice.
Deterministic score from the published notice only (SME/VCSE flags, value, lots, deadline window, framework). Not a prediction you will win, and not legal or bid advice.
Try another notice on the free SME-fit checker.
Key requirements
Extracted from the notice; check the official documents.
- Estimated value
- £2m£2.4m including VAT
- Contract period
- 1 Sept 2027 to 1 Sept 2030 (3 years)
- Legal basis
- Procurement Act 2023
- Delivery location (NUTS/ITL)
- UKC14 (North East)
- CPV codes
- 15894210 School meals; 55523000 Catering services for other enterprises or other institutions
Description
Durham County Council is seeking market engagement in relation to a future contract for the provision of a fully managed catering service at Aycliffe Secure Centre, a secure children's home accommodating up to 34 young people aged 10-18 years. The service will operate seven days per week, 365 days per year and will include the planning, preparation and delivery of nutritious meals for young people and staff. The catering service will include the provision of a daily two course lunch and evening meal service, with at least a choice of two main dishes for an agreed contract meal price, plus a management fee. In addition, the provider will also provide a weekend brunch provision (instead of lunch), special dietary and allergen management, menu development, themed and cultural food events, packed lunches, hospitality catering and ongoing engagement with young people to help shape food offerings. The successful provider will be responsible for kitchen operations, staffing, food safety compliance, safeguarding requirements, supply chain management, sustainability initiatives, performance monitoring and contract management. The Council is seeking a proactive and flexible provider capable of delivering a high-quality catering experience that supports the health, wellbeing and diverse cultural, religious and medical needs of young people within a secure environment. The Council is particularly interested in hearing from suppliers with experience of catering within education, healthcare, residential care, custodial or similarly regulated environments where safeguarding, nutrition, compliance and stakeholder engagement are key service requirements The contract will commence 1st September 2027 and will be for a period of 36 months with 2 x 24 month optional extension periods. The approximate annual contract value is up to £280,000 per annum. It is anticipated that this contract will be procured via an Open Tender procurement process, in Autumn/Winter 2026. A full tender specification will be provided for the tender process.
Previously won by
No award has been published for this tender. These are the latest award notices from Durham County Council for food, beverages & tobacco.
Crisis and Resilience Food Bank Provision · published 11 Sept 2026
DURHAM CHRISTIAN PARTNERSHIPLarge
£300k · Awarded 31 Mar 2026 · Contract ends 30 Mar 2027 · Award notice ↗
EAST DURHAM COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT TRUST LIMITEDLarge
£168k · Awarded 31 Mar 2026 · Contract ends 31 Mar 2027 · Award notice ↗
All open tenders and award history for Durham County Council →
From award notices on Find a Tender and Contracts Finder. SME or Large is the size the supplier declared on the notice (or, where it is silent, on its latest notice). Values are as published.
More from this council
Other open tenders from this council
- 003726 - Internal Audit Management System£170,000 · closes 5 November 2026
- HM Coroners Community Removals list£1,500,000 · closes 2 November 2026
- 003257 - Digital Road Management Platform£600,000 · closes 30 October 2026
- Traffic Data Collection£200,000 · closes 30 October 2026
- 003550 - Flagship Festival 2027£1,500,000 · closes 29 October 2026