Software VAR for Schools
Key Details
Estimated Value
£300,000,000
Deadline
Not specified
Contract Period
Not specified
Procurement Method
Not specified
CPV Code
72261000 - Software support services
Free SME-fit check
Is this tender for me?
Deterministic score from the published notice — not an AI prediction.
49
out of 100
Possible SME fit
Some SME-friendly signals, some caution flags. Worth a closer look against your capacity and accreditations.
Deterministic score from the published notice only (SME/VCSE flags, value, lots, deadline window, framework). Not a prediction you will win, and not legal or bid advice.
Try another notice on the free SME-fit checker.
Key requirements
Extracted from the notice; check the official documents.
- Estimated value
- £300m£360m including VAT
- Contract period
- 1 Apr 2027 to 31 Mar 2030 (3 years)
- Legal basis
- Procurement Act 2023
- Type
- Framework agreement
- Delivery location (NUTS/ITL)
- UKC (North East), UKD (North West), UKF (East Midlands), UKG (West Midlands), UKH (East of England), UKJ (South East) and 1 more
- CPV codes
- 72261000 Software support services; 48100000 Industry specific software package; 48190000 Educational software package
- Suitability (buyer's flag)
- SME-suitable, VCSE-suitable
Description
The Maximising Value for Pupils (MaxVP) programme (https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/maximising-value-for-pupils/maximising-value-for-pupils), launched in December 2025, aims to support schools and trusts in achieving better value across their spending, ensuring that resources are used as effectively as possible to improve outcomes for pupils. Software and digital services are a key area of focus within this programme, given their growing importance in the day-to-day operation of schools. Through a combination of recent engagement with the education sector and established market insight, the Department for Education (DfE) recognises that software procurement and management present a number of significant challenges. These range from increasing and often opaque costs, to complexities in licensing models, and, in some cases, practices that do not consistently deliver fair value to schools and trusts. In response, the DfE has identified an opportunity to explore the implementation of a Value Added Reseller (VAR) model. Such a model has the potential to simplify procurement routes, improve pricing transparency, and provide more consistent support to schools in managing their software requirements. It could also enable the aggregation of demand, leading to stronger commercial outcomes and reduced burden on individual institutions. In parallel, the DfE has been considering the application of a VAR model to support its own internal software requirements for a number of years. Aligning these ambitions presents an opportunity to create a unified commercial approach that delivers benefits at both departmental and sector levels. The overarching objective is therefore to establish a VAR model that effectively meets the needs of both the education sector and the DfE, driving improved value, greater efficiency, and more sustainable software procurement practices.
Suitability
Previously won by
No award has been published for this tender. These are the latest award notices from Department for Education for it services.
DfE Fraud investigation tool award · published 2 Oct 2026
Clue Computing Company LimitedSME
£201k · Awarded 22 Sept 2026 · Contract ends 24 Sept 2029 · Award notice ↗
Strategic Data Transformation Programme - Product Delivery Services · published 18 Sept 2026
Engine Partners UK LLP (Transform)Large
£8.8m · Awarded 7 Aug 2024 · Contract ends 31 May 2027 · Award notice ↗
yearly subscription for NVIVO Licence - September 2026 to September 2027 (con_31908) · published 4 Sept 2026
£11k · Awarded 6 Jul 2026 · Contract ends 30 Sept 2027 · Award notice ↗
WebinarProv26 (con_32122) · published 4 Sept 2026
£17k · Awarded 20 Jun 2026 · Contract ends 31 Mar 2027 · Award notice ↗
Developing a Digital and Data Skills Pathway · published 22 Aug 2026
EDUCATE VENTURES RESEARCH LIMITEDSME
£300k · Awarded 21 Aug 2026 · Contract ends 31 Mar 2027 · Award notice ↗
All open tenders and award history for Department for Education →
From award notices on Find a Tender and Contracts Finder. SME or Large is the size the supplier declared on the notice (or, where it is silent, on its latest notice). Values are as published.