002621 - Preliminary Market Engagement (PME) for 24/7 Managed Security Operations and a Managed Detection and Response (MDR) service
Key Details
Estimated Value
£4,200,000
Deadline
Not specified
Contract Period
Not specified
Procurement Method
Not specified
CPV Code
48732000 - Data security software package
Free SME-fit check
Is this tender for me?
Deterministic score from the published notice — not an AI prediction.
27
out of 100
Challenging for many SMEs
On the published fields alone this looks harder for a typical SME (value, time, or missing SME flag). Exceptions exist — check the notice.
Deterministic score from the published notice only (SME/VCSE flags, value, lots, deadline window, framework). Not a prediction you will win, and not legal or bid advice.
Try another notice on the free SME-fit checker.
Key requirements
Extracted from the notice; check the official documents.
- Estimated value
- £4.2m£5m including VAT
- Contract period
- 1 May 2027 to 30 Apr 2030 (3 years)
- Legal basis
- Procurement Act 2023
- Delivery location (NUTS/ITL)
- UKC14 (North East)
- CPV codes
- 48732000 Data security software package; 72212730 Security software development services; 72212732 Data security software development services
Description
In October 2025, Durham County Council issued a UK2 Preliminary Market Engagement Notice (2025/S 000-063329) and written PME questionnaire on the Open Portal (OPEN20251753) for Extended Detection and Response (XDR) Solution for Endpoint and Email Protection with 24/7 Security Operations Centre (SOC) Services. This engagement attracted 24 responses from the market, however the scope of our requirements has now changed, and we are re-engaging with the market regarding our refined requirements. Please note, Extended Detection and Response is no longer within the scope of this procurement process. Our annual budget is approximately £600,000 per annum and will be looking to procure a contract with an initial term of 3 years, with 2 x 24 month optional extensions. As part of this market engagement process, we are particularly interested in providers proposing what they feel is realistic without our stated budget and in line with our requirements and digital estate priorities. Following satisfactory completion of the below questionnaire, we will be inviting interested suppliers to participate in 1 hour Teams discussions in September 2026, to discuss your specific offering in line with our requirements. These technical discussions will still be part of Preliminary Market Engagement to help us refine our specification and tender documents further, prior to issuing competitive tender process documents.
Previously won by
No award has been published for this tender. These are the latest award notices from Durham County Council for software & information systems.
003955 - SafetyCulture Licences for Health and Safety, Building Services and Waste · published 24 Aug 2026
£34k · Awarded 12 Aug 2026 · Contract ends 31 Aug 2028 · Award notice ↗
003869 - Business Rates Retention (Forecasting and Appeals) Software · published 20 Aug 2026
Inform Holdings LtdLarge
£52k · Awarded 30 Jun 2026 · Contract ends 30 Jun 2029 · Award notice ↗
Renewal of Durham County Council's Microsoft Agreement via NHSSBS DWS2 · published 4 Aug 2026
Softcat PlcLarge
£8.6m · Awarded 11 May 2026 · Contract ends 31 May 2029 · Award notice ↗
Civica OnDemand Financial Assessments · published 22 Jul 2026
Civica UK LimitedLarge
£10k · Awarded 22 Jul 2026 · Contract ends 9 Oct 2026 · Award notice ↗
003713 - EQUAL Platform and Resource Credits · published 20 Jul 2026
The Skills NetworkLarge
£69k · Awarded 6 Jul 2026 · Contract ends 31 Jul 2030 · Award notice ↗
All open tenders and award history for Durham County Council →
From award notices on Find a Tender and Contracts Finder. SME or Large is the size the supplier declared on the notice (or, where it is silent, on its latest notice). Values are as published.
More from this council
Other open tenders from this council
- 003726 - Internal Audit Management System£170,000 · closes 5 November 2026
- HM Coroners Community Removals list£1,500,000 · closes 2 November 2026
- 003257 - Digital Road Management Platform£600,000 · closes 30 October 2026
- Traffic Data Collection£200,000 · closes 30 October 2026
- 003550 - Flagship Festival 2027£1,500,000 · closes 29 October 2026