SME-friendly public buyers
Which UK public buyers award the biggest share of their contracts to small and medium-sized enterprises? 639 buyers have at least 10 published supplier awards with a declared supplier size; 359 of them award most to SMEs. Across these buyers, SMEs won 56% of awards. Built only from award notices on Find a Tender and Contracts Finder.
639 buyers.
| # | Buyer | Share to SMEs | Awards | Median value | Repeat-incumbent share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 321 | Essex County CouncilEast of England · Councils & combined authorities | 55%27 of 49 with size declared | 49 | £368k | 16% |
| 322 | South Gloucestershire CouncilSouth West · Councils & combined authorities | 55%22 of 40 with size declared | 40 | £59k | 15% |
| 323 | Leeds City CouncilYorkshire and the Humber · Councils & combined authorities | 55%74 of 135 with size declared | 135 | £450k | 6% |
| 324 | NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership-Procurement Services (hosted by Velindre University NHS Trust)Wales · NHS & health | 55%40 of 73 with size declared | 73 | £260k | 14% |
| 325 | NATIONAL GRID UK LIMITEDLondon · Other public bodies | 55%12 of 22 with size declared | 22 | £10.7m | 0% |
| 326 | ALDER HEY CHILDREN'S NHS FOUNDATION TRUSTNorth West · NHS & health | 55%6 of 11 with size declared | 11 | £21k | 18% |
| 327 | British Business BankYorkshire and the Humber · Other public bodies | 55%6 of 11 with size declared | 11 | £250k | 0% |
| 328 | East Sussex Healthcare NHS TrustRegion not stated · NHS & health | 55%6 of 11 with size declared | 11 | £140k | 36% |
| 329 | Merthyr Tydfil County Borough CouncilWales · Councils & combined authorities | 55%6 of 11 with size declared | 11 | £1.2m | 0% |
| 330 | National GalleryLondon · Other public bodies | 55%6 of 11 with size declared | 11 | £334k | 0% |
| 331 | Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation TrustNorth East · NHS & health | 55%6 of 11 with size declared | 12 | £44k | 0% |
| 332 | The Police and Crime Commissioner for NorthumbriaNorth East · Police & fire | 55%6 of 11 with size declared | 11 | £442k | 0% |
| 333 | United Lincolnshire Teaching Hospitals NHS TrustEast Midlands · NHS & health | 54%31 of 57 with size declared | 59 | £72k | 20% |
| 334 | West Suffolk NHS Foundation TrustEast of England · NHS & health | 54%38 of 70 with size declared | 74 | £47k | 20% |
| 335 | The Princess Alexandra Hospital NHS TrustEast of England · NHS & health | 54%19 of 35 with size declared | 35 | £76k | 43% |
| 336 | HORNCHURCH ACADEMY TRUSTRegion not stated · Schools, colleges & universities | 54%21 of 39 with size declared | 39 | — | 0% |
| 337 | THE UNIVERSITY OF BIRMINGHAMWest Midlands · Schools, colleges & universities | 54%14 of 26 with size declared | 26 | — | 0% |
| 338 | Department of Health and Social CareLondon · NHS & health | 54%7 of 13 with size declared | 14 | £68k | 21% |
| 339 | East Lindsey District CouncilEast Midlands · Councils & combined authorities | 54%7 of 13 with size declared | 13 | — | 0% |
| 340 | Mid Devon District CouncilSouth West · Councils & combined authorities | 54%7 of 13 with size declared | 13 | £160k | 0% |
| 341 | YORK TEACHING HOSPITAL FACILITIES MANAGEMENT LLPYorkshire and the Humber · NHS & health | 54%7 of 13 with size declared | 13 | £144k | 0% |
| 342 | ICS on behalf of DSIT and DESNZSouth West · Other public bodies | 53%8 of 15 with size declared | 15 | £119k | 0% |
| 343 | MIDLAND HEART LIMITEDWest Midlands · Other public bodies | 53%8 of 15 with size declared | 15 | £11.3m | 0% |
| 344 | ORBIT GROUP LIMITEDWest Midlands · Other public bodies | 53%8 of 15 with size declared | 15 | £517k | 13% |
| 345 | Wigan CouncilNorth West · Councils & combined authorities | 53%59 of 111 with size declared | 111 | £91k | 5% |
| 346 | Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation TrustLondon · NHS & health | 53%34 of 64 with size declared | 65 | £160k | 34% |
| 347 | CENTRE FOR ENVIRONMENT, FISHERIES AND AQUACULTURE SCIENCEEast of England · Other public bodies | 53%17 of 32 with size declared | 34 | £144k | 6% |
| 348 | ORE CatapultScotland · Other public bodies | 53%9 of 17 with size declared | 17 | £181k | 12% |
| 349 | The Royal Borough of Kingston upon ThamesLondon · Councils & combined authorities | 53%9 of 17 with size declared | 17 | £165k | 12% |
| 350 | Notting Hill GenesisLondon · Other public bodies | 53%30 of 57 with size declared | 57 | — | 67% |
| 351 | LEIDOS SUPPLY, LIMITEDSouth West · Other public bodies | 53%10 of 19 with size declared | 19 | £1.5m | 11% |
| 352 | LHC on behalf of the Scottish Procurement Alliance (SPA)Scotland · Other public bodies | 53%10 of 19 with size declared | 19 | — | 0% |
| 353 | Plymouth City CouncilSouth West · Councils & combined authorities | 53%10 of 19 with size declared | 19 | £275k | 21% |
| 354 | Wychavon District CouncilWest Midlands · Councils & combined authorities | 53%10 of 19 with size declared | 19 | £86k | 11% |
| 355 | CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY HOSPITALS NHS FOUNDATION TRUSTEast of England · NHS & health | 52%51 of 98 with size declared | 98 | £487k | 34% |
| 356 | University Of EdinburghScotland · Schools, colleges & universities | 52%17 of 33 with size declared | 33 | — | 12% |
| 357 | Portsmouth City CouncilSouth East · Councils & combined authorities | 51%23 of 45 with size declared | 45 | £16m | 0% |
| 358 | Liverpool City CouncilNorth West · Councils & combined authorities | 51%24 of 47 with size declared | 47 | £191k | 17% |
| 359 | Torbay CouncilSouth West · Councils & combined authorities | 51%24 of 47 with size declared | 47 | £209k | 13% |
| 360 | North East Combined AuthorityNorth East · Councils & combined authorities | 50%17 of 34 with size declared | 35 | £47k | 6% |
Methodology
- Source: award notices published on Find a Tender and Contracts Finder that name at least one supplier. Each named supplier on a notice counts as one award (frameworks with many suppliers count once per supplier). No spending or invoice data is used.
- SME: the supplier declared itself a small or medium-sized enterprise on that award notice; if the notice is silent, the size it declared on its most recent notice. Awards with no declared size are left out of the share.
- Sample size: buyers appear only with at least 10 linked awards and 10 with a declared supplier size. Smaller buyers still have an award panel on their own page, but no scorecard.
- Median value: median awarded value over single-supplier awards that state a value. Repeat-incumbent share: share of the buyer's awards won by suppliers that won from it at least twice.
- Buyer type is a rough grouping from the buyer's name and region comes from the buyer's address on its notices. Buyer names are grouped by spelling, so a few organisations may appear under two names.
- Many contracts are awarded without a published award notice, so treat these as indicators, not a full record of a buyer's spending. Always read the notices.
About this data
Tenders come from the UK government's Find a Tender and Contracts Finder services (OCDS feeds), refreshed twice a day. A tender counts as open until its stated deadline. Values are as stated by the buyer and are often estimates. Always check the official notice before bidding.
See also award benchmarks, direct awards and free tender alerts.